Event sponsor Melvyn Evans co-driven by Mark Glennerster took a 39 second victory after a day long battle with Damien Cole on a tough event that saw only 45 finishing the event. Richard Merriman and Kath Curzon rounded off the top 10 in the Darrian T90 again taking a class win and an early lead in the Championship. Tony Rees and Geraint Thomas in the GTR version of the Darrian took 15th place and join Martyn England reigning Champion Dawn in nominating the West Cork Rally as their optional overseas round on St. Patricks Weekend.

Amongst the 39 retirements, Will Mains and Sion Jones battled with Lloyd Morgan / Marc Clatworthy until both hit problems on Stage 3. An electrical issue saw Morgan / Clatworthy miss Stage 4 and come back out for the Trophy event to prove the car in preparation for the Isle of Man, only for a problem, possibly with the crank sensor to re-occur. Mains / Jones took their lead up to three and a half minutes but had cruel luck when an alternator and wiring problem stopped them from tackling the last stage. Alex Moore / Seyyan John had their clutch release bearing come adrift on the Subaru Impreza ending their rally on Stage 1 and a gear selector problem for Olly Hopkins / Ian Taylor sidelined them on Stage 6.

Brecon driver Sara Williams and Patrick Walsh leave for France shortly for the Rallye Le Touquet. After her first attempt last year, Sara hopes to complete a full season in the Renault Clio Trophy and has nominated the event based in the seaside resort near Calais for Challenge points.

Photos courtesy of AutoAvia 

Points following Round 3 –¬†Melvyn Evans Motorsport Tour of Epynt


Richard Merriman 60.

Jonathan Davies 35.

William Mains 35.

Dylan Davies 30.

Melvyn Evans 30.

Carl Fricker 30.

Perry Gardener 30.

Owen McMackin 30.

Iuean Rowlands 30

Roger Thomas 30.

Mike Jewell 28.

Barry Jordan 28.

Owen McOnochie  J  28.

Matthew Bowyer 26.

Kalvin Green  J  26.

Colin Griffiths 26.

Stuart Jacobs 26.

Barry John 26.

Tony Rees 26.

David Lloyd Roberts 26.

Sean Jones 24.

Dan Moss 24.

Osian Pryce  J  24.

Mike Pugsley 24.

Bob Vardy 24.

Harry Gardner 23.

Chris Ransley 23.

Julian Reynolds 23.

Robert Bradley 22.

Ivor James 22.

Mark Booth 21.

Philip Clarke 21.

Kristian Wright 21.

Simon De Banke 20.

Steve Deeley 20.

Steffan Daniels 5.

Oliver Hopkins 5.

Philip Hopkins 5.

Chris Jones 5.

Osian Jones 5.

Nev Jones 5.

Wyn Jones 5.

Martin G Laverty 5.

Alex Moore 5.

Marcus Padgett 5.                 Equal points currently listed alphabetically       J = Junior contenders


Kath Curzon 60.

Paul Wakely 58.

Michael Gilbey 50.

Aled Edwards 31.

Seyyan John 31.

Toby Brick 30.

Theresa Fossey 30.

Mark Glennerster 30.

Arfon Griffiths 30.

Emyr Hall 30.

Lee Taylor  J  30.

Llion Williams 30.

Rhodri Williams  J  28.

Dale Clatworthy 26.

Dei Jones 26.

Osian Owen  J  26.

Matthew Russ 26.

Geraint Thomas 26.

Patrick Walsh 26.

Sam Allen  J  24.

Clive (Selwyn) Jones 24.

Richard Suter 24.

Elliot Graham  J  23.

Kevin Booth 22.

Rob Billingham 22.

David Hodge 21.

Pauline Merrills 21

Alan Proudman 20.

Sion Williams  J  15.

Marc Clatworthy 5.

Chris Davies 5.

Emyr Evans 5.

Jonny ‚ÄėTad‚Äô Evans 5.

Richard Evans 5.

Ian Jones 5.

Sion Jones 5.

Lewis Griffiths  J  5.

Phil Kenny 5.

Ian Taylor 5.

Jason Thomas 5.                    Equal points listed alphabetically                      J = Junior contenders








get in touch for advice & to order your car parts


Open Mon-Fri, 8.00am - 5.30pm and Sat 8am - 1.30pm
FMP Motor Factors, Unit 1, St John's Court, Upper Fforest Way,
Swansea Enterprise Park SA6 8QQ

Port Talbot

Open Mon-Fri, 8.00am - 5.30pm and Sat 8am - 12.30pm
FMP Motor Factors, Unit 30, Baglan Industrial Park,
Port Talbot, SA12 7DJ